So you do Cross Fit?

So, I have been asked this question multiple times since I started the venture.  So are you a Cross Fit gym?  You just do Cross Fit right?  Most people that know me, know that I have always been in shape and have always worked out in some way, shape or form.  Since as long as I can remember, I have worked out.  Is Cross Fit one of the things that I do?  Sure.  I coach at a Cross Fit Gym (Box), Sometimes the workouts I do are similar or exactly like Cross Fit workouts.  The next thing I have been asked or told is that it is dangerous to do Cross Fit.  So, trying to field these questions and statements as a new business owner and as someone who is a Fan of overall being healthy and fit has been difficult.  Not as difficult as telling people why I am different from other coaches or training programs.

Again, I like Cross Fit the Methodology and think they have basically created the fitness craze that is around now.  I would be lying if I said it wasn’t the reason I finally got the motivation among other things to start my own business.  I may very well affiliate one day and Cross Fit will be something that I offer to those who are looking for it but the main purpose is to improve health, fitness and teach others how to be accountable and take control of both.  I don’t think that Cross Fit is the only way to do that and neither does Cross Fit I’d bet.

So, what is it that I do exactly?  I provide the tools and information to help others change how they view and go about staying healthy and fit for the duration of their life.  I have been a Paramedic for the better part of 14 years to include time as a Medic in the U.S. Army.  I’ve seen individuals at the peak of their health and performance and I have also seen what it looks like when that is “let go” and overall health and well-being takes a turn for the worst.  For me it was like watching one person at a time slowly kill themselves to include people within my family and there was nothing they wanted to do about it.  Or, if they did want to do something the best thing they knew to do was starve themselves to lose weight with no worry of what was going on in the inside of their body.

How is it that I have decided to go about this?  This part seems to constantly be a work in progress.  Almost once maybe even twice a week, I am coming to my wife with ideas about how to on board new members and ways to keep other ones.  At times it’s discouraging because another little curve ball I may not have  mentioned.  I do all of this training right now online.  This is nothing new in the fitness industry, in fact give it some time and it will effectively take the place of the one on one personal training sessions.  However, everyone as of now want’s that personal trainer physically in front of them it has been difficult and is somewhat unbelievable when I start to tell people about it.  “How can you lose weight with a trainer if he’s not there to show you? ”  Someone even asked me one day, ” Do you Skype call the entire training session?”  Not an invalid question but I still thought it was funny.  Oh, and getting the word out on how we go about the business of getting you fit is a task I am still working on.  This business is a hustle for sure, and it’s easily gotten better since I started at this time last year.

End goal,  what I’m looking to do?  Continue to work with the individuals I have now.  They are all getting stronger and seeing great results.  Continue to grow the online portion of our business so that we are able to fund our first brick and mortar space.  Keep taking care of people.  In a nutshell, that is what I want to do. Help people find their path in defining what it means for them to be strong. Whether that means, Cross Fit, Power Lifting, Weight Lifting, competition or just staying in shape to be able to run around and play with your kids.  If we are helping others to get there, then I have done my job and I would consider the business a success.

-Alfred

Leave a Reply

